SparrowQ

i dont have social media

On not having social media i have many feelings.

I do not miss posting on social media. It felt like a self appointed responsibility that I am happy to be rid of. I don't feel the need to post pictures about my life or pictures of my art the way I used to. As an artist it is almost expected that I have some sort of art account to share my work with the world, but for me, my art is for myself. I much more enjoy sharing my work and my passions through talking to others in person and having them on this blog.

I miss being up to date on humor. Not having social media has both aged and rejuvenated me in unique ways. On the one hand, I feel a weight off my shoulders not interacting with the addictive traps and spirals that I used to find myself in. I have found so many wonderful and inspiring things past the walls of social media that I didn't know existed before, and that makes me feel young; exploring and adventuring in a new part of the internet. On the other hand, a friend will make a joke that is going around on tik tok and instantly I age 50 years and laugh nervously as I peck out knowyourmeme.com with my withering and sagging fingers on my flip phone. I miss being in on the joke with the people my age.

I do not miss scrolling on my phone, I do not miss opening various apps just to click off of them again. I do not miss doom scrolling. I do not miss toxic terrible people and their sickening presence. I do miss the artists and their art. I do miss the small communities and interactions I've had in the past. I do miss seeing something beautiful and saving in onto my phone to have forever.

But overall moving off social media has been great for me. When people ask for my handle, I give them this blog address. I honestly wish I had even less in my life I do now; I don't have any social media apps but Youtube continues to take up a lot of time I wish it didn't. It's something I'll keep working towards. In the end there's not right or wrong answer, I'm just happy I've ended up here, on this beautiful website.

3D_dolphin